New faces in UR Board of Governors appointed by the Cabinet Meeting


Following the extraordinary cabinet meeting held on January 28th, 2019, the University of Rwanda saw its members of Board of Governors appointed and reappointed. The meeting was chaired by the President of the Republic of Rwanda H.E Paul Kagame.

Prof Paul Davenport (Chairperson) and Dr Diane Karusisi (Vice Chairperson)

In the cabinet resolutions, seven (7) members were appointed to be part of UR Board of Governors ; among them four are new for the assignment.

Appointed Board members :

  • Prof. Paul Davenport, Chairperson (Reappointed)
  • Dr. Diane Karusisi Ngendo, Vice Chairperson (Reappointed)
  • Dr. Remi Quirion (New)
  • Ms Josephine Irene Uwamariya (New)
  • Dr. Clet Niyikiza (Reappointed)
  • Ms Jeanne Munezero (New)
  • Dr. Elias Twagira (New)

In addition to the appointed members by the cabinet, there are members of the Board of Governors by virtue of managerial positions they hold in UR, and members who represent teachers, researchers, staff and students of UR.

Those are :

  • The Vice-Chancellor of UR,
  • One (1) Principal, elected by peers ;
  • One (1) Dean, elected by peers ;
  • One (1) member of academic staff elected by peers ;
  • One (1) member of non-academic staff, elected by peers ;
  • Two (2) students of opposite sex, elected by peers.

The UR Board of Governors is the governing and decision-making organ. Members are selected on the basis of their ability, competence and expertise.